Random ramblings on New Year’s Eve…

Happy Anniversary to us! My husband, Mitch and I have enjoyed eight long years, er, WONDERFUL years of marriage!  I love the week between Christmas and New Year’s Day. It has always been a time of reflection and planning for me. This is especially true since I have become a mother. I love to look at the past year and see how far we have come. In the past few years, there is usually another little person that we have added to our family. Another little life to celebrate! Now, as a homeschooling family, we get to look at what worked for us and what didn’t this past year. I get to plot our course for next year.

I have considerably fewer goals for 2016. In 2015, I had a lengthy list of smaller goals. Some were accomplished, some not. Some goals in 2015 were semi-accomplished and some were changed in mid-stream! I can see all of this easily in my homemaking binder. I began typing up my goals for the year and putting them in the front of my homemaking binder in 2014. I got this idea from Kelsey. She has a great series on making a homemaking binder! The idea is to think about the big picture. What do you want to accomplish this year? Then break your goals down into small pieces that are easy to insert into your daily routines.

Although my goal list for the new year is shorter, some of the goals are quite a bit beefier. For example, EXERCISE. I despise purposeful exercise. But if it means I will sleep better at night, then I will try it.

Another big goal is to actually WRITE. I have so much to say. I have a list of blog posts just waiting to be written. I need time and energy. I need Jesus. I need to effectively implement early morning prayer time and Bible study. I was thinking about maybe adopting a word or phrase or verse for 2016. I had not fully committed to this idea when a verse hit me like a ton of bricks. It showed up in two different places.

Romans 13:11,12 And do this, understanding the present time. The hour has come for you to wake up from your slumber, because our salvation is nearer now than when we first believed. The night is nearly over; the day is almost here. So let us put aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light. (NIV)

Here we go. Maybe this year will be the year that I am able to implement more of my wonderful ideas. See, I am full of wonderful ideas. I am short on the discipline needed to carry them out. To follow through. To take something full circle. These are my New Year’s ramblings….

What are you thinking about on this last evening of 2015?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

